We welcome this surf report with news from this past weekend, in Dominical, the Circuito Nacional de Surf kolbi (CNS) opened its 19th season. This countrywide competition of Costa Rica surfing welcomed a lot of familiar names, but it was the up-and-comers that everyone on the beach had their eyes on—not to mention those in the Federación de Surf de Costa Rica (FSC) who put together the national teams that compete outside the country every year.


Jair Perez of Jaco won the Envision Surf Cup in Domincal, while Leilani McGonagle of Pavones took the Women’s category. Current Costa Rica national surf champion Anthony Fillingim wants to defend his title, and started with a 3rd place finish in Dominical. Rubiana Brownell, who holds the title in Women’s, Junior Women’s and Girls, is well on her way with wins in the latter, while Junior champion Malakai Martinez was away surfing on Hawaii’s North shore. Other 2018 champions hoping to repeat are Aaron Ramirez (Boys), Axel Castro (Grommets), Leonardo Apreda (Minigrommets), and Candelaria Resano (Minigrommets Girls).


Our surf report shows the full list of winners is:
1. Jair Pérez (Jacó)
2. Tomas King (Tamarindo)
3. Anthony Fillingim (Santa Teresa)
4. Olman Morales (Santa Teresa)

Women’s Open
1. Leilani McGonagle (Pavones)
2. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)
3. Lisbeth Vindas (Jacó)
4. Paula Duarte (Jacó)

1. Aarón Ramirez (Jaco)
2. Sam Reidy (Dominical)
3. Justín Sánchez (Pavones)
4. Kenneth Peralta (Dominical)

Junior Women’s
1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)
2. Valeria Ojeda (Jaco)
3. Coral Wiggins (Avellanas)
4. Paulina Summers (Puerto Viejo)

1. Tao Rodriguez (Panamá)
2. Jorge Monge (Jacó)
3. Sam Reidy (Dominical)
4. Aaron Ramirez (Jaco)

1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)
2. Valeria Ojeda (Jaco)
3. Indiana Ferri (Puerto Viejo)
4. Auxiela Ryan (Puerto Viejo)

1. Ido Hagag
2. Ethan Hollander (Dominical)
3. Pietro Garroux (Guanacaste)
4. Victor Camarena (Panamá)

1. Ethan Hollander (Dominical)
2. Pietro Garroux (Guanacaste)
3. Kian Ashara
4. Victor Camarena

MiniGrommets Girls
1. Erika Berra
2. Ava North
3. Lucy Rodriguez
4. Albertina Torres


Later this year, the chosen Costa Rica’s surf team, made of up high-ranking national surfers and of those available guys and gals on the international circuits like the World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS), will do the Pan American Games in Lima around July or August. In addition, they will participate in the International Surf Association (ISA) Open and Junior World Championships, and a Central American competition, dates and locations to be announced.


Meanwhile another significant tournament kicks off next month: Sun Bum presents Circuito Guanacasteco de Surf 2019 (CGS) Sharkys Triple Crown. It’s “mission is to encourage children to compete and interact with friendship and good sports ethics in a competitive environment. As well as inviting the best surfers from around the country to our events to demonstrate the highest level of surfing in Costa Rica for our little competitors, and the future of surfing: The Dolphins.”


The dates for the CGS are February 16 and 17 Marbella, March 2 and 3 Avellanas and June 1 and 2 in Playa Negra, the latter are the finals. Look for surfers to try and beat the 2018 CGS champions Angelo Bonomelli (Open), Rubiana Brownell (Women’s, Girls), Malakai Martinez (Junior), Kai Gale (Boys), Christian Boos (Master), and Nico Boos (Dolphins).